Judi DeStefano, Chair Jeff Capeci, Vice Chair Paul Lundquist Deborah Zukowski



3 Primrose Lane Newtown, CT. 06470 Tel. (203) 270-4210 www.newtown-ct.gov

TOWN OF NEWTOWN

Draft Minutes of the Legislative Council Charter Revision Communications Ad Hoc Committee

The Charter Revision Communications Ad Hoc Committee met on Wednesday, July 13, 2016 in Meeting Room Three of the Newtown Municipal Center. Council Chairman Mary Ann Jacob called the meeting to order at 7:04 pm.

Present: Ms. Jacob, Mr. Capeci, Mr. Lundquist, Ms. Zukowski

Absent: Ms. DeStefano

PUBLIC COMMENT: None.

New Business

Ms. Jacob called for nominations for Chair. Mr. Lundquist nominated Ms. DeStefano, Mr. Capeci seconded. There were no other nominations. Motion passed unanimously.

As the newly elected chairman was not present, Ms. Jacob called for nominations for Vice Chairman. Mr. Lundquist nominated Mr. Capeci. Ms. Zuxowski seconded. There were no other nominations. Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Capeci then took over running the meeting. Ms. Jacob reminded all members that they are subject to all the rules of the Freedom of Information Act, and the State Elections Enforcement rules which are attached to these minutes. Under no circumstances should this committee engage in advocating for or against the passing of the charter revision questions, their role, per the attached charge is to inform the public of the vote and the content of the requested changes to the charter so the voters can make an informed decision on how they choose to vote.

Ms. Jacob also asked members to weigh in on how they thought the questions should be put to the voters on the ballot. They will forward any suggestions to the council chairman before the August 3rd council meeting.

Meeting dates tentatively set for July 21 and 28, August 4, 7, 18 and 25 and September 1 – all at 7:00pm. Ms. Jacob will ask council clerk Carey Schierloh to check on and reserve meeting room space.

No voter comment.

Having no further business, Mr. Lundquist motioned to adjourn at 7:40pm and Mr. Capeci seconded. All in favor.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mary Ann Jacob Legislative Council Chairman